News alert

Signup for our NewsAlert, and get an e-mail when new articles are posted...


The latest digital imaging news is also available through our CES RSS service. Add the RSS feed to your news feeder and you will receive constantly updated articles on all the CES news. To use our RSS service you will need an RSS reader, of which there are many available online.

CES RSSCES Headlines
Sitemap by CategorySitemap by Category
Sitemap by BrandSitemap by Brand

Photo Contest


Camera Brands

News Headlines

Leica Photo Contest

Ilse Jurrien
CES report
Friday 28th, December 2007
Posted by: Ilse Jurrien

Leica Camera AG, Solms is now inviting entries for its next international “Leica Oskar Barnack Award“ (deadline January 31, 2008) and “Leica European Publishers Award for Photography” (deadline March 21, 2008) competitions for professional photographers. The entry forms can be downloaded as pdf files at the Leica website in the Culture section. The annual Leica Oskar Barnack Award is given to the photographer whose sure powers of observation most vividly express man's relationship to his environment in a single photograph or photo story consisting of minimum 8 up to 12 pictures.

Photo contest

Leica Photo Contest - Prizes
The competition is held in memory of the inventor of the Leica, Oskar Barnack (1879 - 1936), who took more and more photographs from 1914 onwards with his prototype, today called the Ur-Leica. The history of photo reportage is closely linked to his invention, as the handy and mobile Leica cameras available from 1925 enabled new forms of expression in photography. Either of 35 mm slide copies or enlargements may be submitted (min. 7 x 9 inches, max. 9 x 11 inches). To qualify, entries must either be series of photos taken in 2007 or long-term projects with at least some of the photos dating from 2007. The winner will receive 5,000 Euros or a Leica camera of the same value.

Photo contest

Photography Contest - Photo projects
Entries should be marked “Leica Oskar Barnack Award 2007“ and sent to: Leica Camera AG, Oskar-Barnack-Straße 11 in D- 35606 Solms, Germany. The “Leica European Publishers Award for Photography” has been one of the culture projects of Leica Camera AG ever since it was first conferred in 1994. This annual photographic award is one of the most prestigious photo book prizes in Europe. To be eligible for entry, photo projects must be completed, unpublished and in the form of a book. The winner's project is published in a circulation of 5000 copies by the participating publishers in their particular country and language.

Photo contest

Leica Photo Contest - Prize winners
The 'European Publishers Award for Photography’ is now in its fourteenth year. The prizewinners so far were Dario Mitidieri - “The Children of Bombay’ (1994), Shanto Rao - 'Pictures of Women’ (1995), Bruce Gilden - 'Haiti’ (1996), Tony Catany 'Photographs’ (1997), Dean Chapman 'Karenni - Guerilla in Burma’ (1998), Jeff Mermelstein - 'Sidewalk’ (1999), Alfons Alt ‚Bestiae’ (2000), David Farrell 'Innocent Landscapes’ (2001), Simon Norfolk 'Afghanistan‘(2002), Haris Kakarouhas 'Buena Vista Cuba’(2003), Harri Hallio, 'The Dodo & Mauritius Island: IMAGINARY ENCOUNTERS' (2004), Lorenzo Castore ‘Paradiso’ (2005) and Ambroise Tézenas ‘Peking’ (2006) and Paolo Pellegrin ,As I Was Dying’ (2007).

Recommended related articles

Next or previous article

The International CES 2018 features consumer technology exhibitors in 15 product categories. The International CES is produced by the Consumer Electronics Association (CEA), the trade association promoting growth in the consumer technology industry. CEA represents more than 2,000 corporate members involved in the design, development, manufacturing, distribution and integration of consumer electronics products. All profits from CES are reinvested into industry services, including technical training and education, industry promotion, engineering standards development, market research and legislative advocacy. The CES 2018 is the moment where new products and services will be introduced for the upcoming season.